Nothing ever happens in Timisoara


* WordPress tells me this is my 100th post! I started this blog on the 14th of February 2009 and…I feel that I came a long way since then. Thank you all for following and encouraging me. And now the post πŸ™‚

Warning πŸ™‚ Maybe for the foreigners or people not living in Timisoara, this post may not be so interesting or may seem too local.

The title is what some people say about this city, along with: there are holes in the roads. And the traffic is terrible. And there is dust and pollution. And the bike lanes are cracked. And there are no jobs, or money. And the elections are coming and there’s no decent candidate. And there is this full of snobs, this “nouveau riche”. And people don’t appreciate culture. And there is bureaucracy and corruption. And the people are poor and hopeless. And the city is dirty and people don’t sort properly the waste. And it’s depressing to watch TV as there are only stupid shows and no-value stars.

This is what some people say. And I’m not blind, really, but no matter how hard I try, I can’t seem to be a “hater” (I recently found out about this word), meaning to criticize in a superior and cynical manner everything that is wrong with our society. I know, I know, saying what’s wrong is important and somebody has to do it, but it matters so much how you say it. And I believe that hatred, cynicism and violent speech don’t help at all. In fact, I think they damage you health and might cause blindness and insensitivity to the good things around us, which really do exist. Honestly, I am expecting that one of these days somebody will tell me: yeah, right, just bugger off with your unrealistic peaceful and positive messages. (but I can assure you that I am not even a hippie, an optimist, God forbid, or high, I’m just a regular person) . And besides, as we all know, there’s no bright side of the…moon. As a matter of fact it’s all dark.

So this is my answer to people who say that nothing ever happens in Timisoara. These are just a few things that I saw in the city last week and they made me smile, so I would like to share it with you.

This is an unconventional art event organized by a local cultural association “Ariergarda”: poetry, jazz and art in a parkLaunching sky lanterns in Unirii square, Timisoara on International AIDS candlelight memorial day

African masks: a drawing workshop organized by the French Cultural Center in Timisoara

The Art Museum in Timisoara on Museum Nights

And if you really don’t feel like going to any event, there are a lot of things for free, like riding the bike in the park

Or sit on a bench, drink water from the fountain and watch the sunset in Unirii square. It’s for free, but it’s priceless, as they say πŸ™‚

And if I really get bored, I can stop a person I don’t know on the street and ask him/her to help me make a crazy photo (see below πŸ™‚

By the way, I think this is what I love the most about photography, that it makes me get out of my “comfort zone”, it makes me connect with and photograph unknown people. I hope you will do that often, only good things come out of it πŸ˜‰

Or you can do something really extreme: read poetry in the middle of the streetΒ  πŸ™‚

Here I photographed two young Romanian poets (by the way, their poems are great!) Marius Stefan Aldea and Aleksandar Stoicovici (sorry, only in Romanian) for my photo project The Readers

If you feel like, tell me one crazy thing that you did and made you feel great πŸ™‚ You can leave a comment below.

More photos from Timisoara: here

Or check out my facebook page

This entry was posted in People, Performing arts, Photo projects, Romania, Street photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

