My photo projects for 2012. Cultural Timisoara


"Timisoara"

The idea of this project started vaguely, something like: I like to take photos + I like to go to cultural events in Timisoara.  But as time went by, the idea became more concrete and it was “upgraded” to a project 🙂

As some of you might know, last year I returned to Timisoara after several years of living abroad. I longed to reconnect to people dear to me, but also places and an environment that I felt I belonged to. I wanted to rediscover the city, to reconnect to it. And for me, the best way to connect is through photography. So I am walking and biking  a lot around the city, photographing. I am also going and photographing quite often different cultural events, concerts, theater plays, exhibitions, book launching, happenings, which make such a nice atmosphere in the city. Walking around, I discovered that there are so many things happening and changing in my city, not only from cultural point of view, there are a lot of NGOs, young people with nice community initiatives. Maybe for people who haven’t lived in Romania it is difficult to understand why this is such a big deal. But like in all post-communist countries, things are changing slowly, slowly. And it feels good to be part of this change.  And the times they are a changin’

Therefore, through this project I would like to gather photos taken at cultural events in Timisoara. I don’t intend to cover all the events, it would be impossible, nor do they interest me all. I also don’t want this project to become a newspaper that covers cultural events, there are already enough and good ones.  But I would like to show how cultural Timisoara looks from the point of view of a ordinary citizen ( me 🙂 ). I would also like though my photos to improve the visibility of (local) artists and therefore support them. And last but not least, I would like to bring my small contribution to the idea that Timisoara could selected in the near future the European Capital of Culture.

And yea, I know I’m not gonna change the world (or not even the city)though this project, but I think every tiny little thing we do for the community in which we live matters. What do you think?

For the Romanian version of this post go here

Visit my facebook page

This entry was posted in Performing arts, Photo projects, Romania and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My photo projects for 2012. Cultural Timisoara

  1. Pingback: Proiecte pe 2012. Partea 2. Timisoara culturala - Claudia Tanasescu Fotografa Timisoara - Claudia Tanasescu Fotografa Timisoara

Leave a Reply

