Street photography on Charles Bridge in Prague


Charles Bridge in Prague is one of the most crowded touristic places ever, the kind of places I usually avoid. Big crowds really put me off.  But on this summer trip to Prague I found myself spending almost two hours on Charles bridge observing the little universe there and doing the kind of photography I love the most: candid street photography. Actually it shares the first pace in my heart together with nature photography.

One good thing though about crowded places is that I can be incospicuous among the hundreds of other tourists with their cameras. Usually street photographers prefer the “golden” 50 mm lens, but I shoot with a zoom lens because it allows me to be even more incospicuous, as I am not drawing attention on myself by moving so much to frame or focus, and so I can capture people’s expressions or movements when they are not self-conscious or posing, like they usually are in front of the camera. I just sit on the side with my camera ready and I observe, waiting for – what Henri Cartier Bresson calls – the “decisive moment”. Of course, it is not only a matter of photographic skills, but a combination of chance and patience.

"Prague street photography collage"More photos from Prague here.

More street photography here.

This entry was posted in Black and white, Czech Republic, People, Street photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

